Antelope

Waterbuck - Perspective 2

Waterbuck – Perspective 2, Elephant Plains Game Lodge, Sabi Sands, South Africa

I learned on my trip that South Africa has no deer, only antelope.  I had never been curious enough to find out what the really is the difference between deer and antelope; they look mostly the same.  I learned that deer, as well as elk and moose, have antlers made of bone and are shed and regrown every year.  Antelope have horns which have a bony core covered by keratin.  Horns are not shed and regrown.  I did know that there were different varieties of antelope but, though I only saw a sample, I was really surprised at how many varieties there are.

A few weeks ago I published pictures of the beautiful kudu.  Today I am rounding out my collection with the tiny duiker and steenbok, the klipspringer (rock jumper), the ubiquitous impala, the bontebok, the hartebeest and the big, beautiful waterbuck.

I hope you enjoy these images.

Regards,

Larry

Note: the images can be seen in a larger size at: https://larryklink.smugmug.com/South-African-Adventure-2016 in the Antelope and Waterbuck Galleries

Duiker

Duiker, Elephant Plains Game Lodge, Sabi Sands, South Africa

Impala Herd

Impala Herd, Kruger National Park, South Africa, AUG 2016

Waterbuck - Perspective 3

Waterbuck – Perspective 3, Kruger National Park, South Africa, AUG 2016

Steenbok - Perspective 1

Steenbok- Perspective 1, Kruger National Park, South Africa, AUG 2016

Steenbok - Perspective 2

Steenbok, Perspective 2, Kruger National Park, South Africa, AUG 2016

Klipspringer

Klipspringer (Rock Jumper), Kruger National Park, South Africa, AUG 2016

Bontebuck

Bontebuk, South Africa, August 2016

Hartebeast

Hartebeest, Addo Elephant Park, South Africa, AUG 2016

 

These and other images are available for purchase at my website: www.earthwatcher.us or by contacting me.

Leave a Reply

