Birds

I am not typically a bird photographer.  When I do shoot birds, I try to take them in the context of their environment, trying to answer the questions: this is who I am and this is how I survive.  Living in the Sacramento, CA area affords me the opportunity to shoot migrating winter birds but, I find I really like to go back to the usual suspects – herons, egrets, Canada geese and mallards, hawks.  Learning about them, observing their behavior gives me a lot of pleasure.

The last week or so, I’ve had the added pleasure of trying out my new Fujinon 100-400mm F4.5-5.6 lens and 1.4X Tele-converter.  Its a great lens but its been more than a year since I shot with a long lens so, I made a few depth of field mistakes.  Oh well, I guess I just need to go out and shoot more.

Anyway, here are a few images I shot.  I hope you enjoy them.

20160209-Wm-Pond-Park-047-WEB

Great Egret

20160209-Wm-Pond-Park-027-WEB

Canada Goose

20160209-Wm-Pond-Park-030-Edit-WEB

Snowy Egret

Mountain Plover - Winter Plummage

Mountain Plover

20160209-Wm-Pond-Park-043-WEB

Red Shouldered Hawk

Bald Eagle

Bald Eagle

Snowy Egret

Snowy Egret

 

Leave a Reply

