Follow Where the Light Leads

As photographers, we are admonished to wait for the perfect light or, as a studio photographer, to set up the perfect light.  It’s good advice, but not always practical.  Sometimes you find yourself at a location you’d like to shoot and walk away disappointed because there are interesting subjects but bad lighting.  I have been working on turning that admonishment around and searching where the light leads me; finding subjects where the light presents them.  Those opportunities even avail themselves in very diffuse light.   We just have to open our mind to creativity when thinking about light.

Untitled

Untitled, California State Rail Museum, Sacramento, CA, JAN 2016

Untitled

Untitled, California State Rail Museum, Sacramento, CA, JAN 2016

Last weekend, I visited the California State Rail Museum.  If you are a railroad buff, there are a lot of great things to see.  While there, I set 2 objectives: learn to use my cell phone camera more effectively and to look for subjects made interesting by the museum lighting.  I did OK with the first objective but didn’t advance my skill as much as I’d have liked.  I did learn that I have a little control over depth of field though not a lot.  I did find interesting subjects to shoot.  The museum lighting was very good and the light painted details in interesting ways.  I’ve included a few examples for you to enjoy.

A Brass Valve

A Brass Valve, California State Rail Museum, Sacramento, CA, JAN 2016

A View of the Underbelly

A View of the Underbelly, California State Rail Museum, Sacramento, CA, JAN 2016

One thought on “Follow Where the Light Leads

  1. You make a very good point about using existing lighting to your best advantage.

    Like

Leave a Reply

