The Left Brained Photographer

Hayden Valley, Yellowstone National Park.  Winner, Blue Ribbon, Sacramento County Fair, May 2013. Awarded Special Merit, Light, Space and Time Online Gallery 2013 Landscape competition. (Honored)

Hayden Valley, Yellowstone National Park. 

I am hopelessly left-brained; analytic to the core.  I understand that to truly appreciate a piece of art, one must make an emotional connection to it.  I understand that art is often collected for its historical value or as an investment, but that doesn’t seem to be enough to allow love for it to grow.  I’ve sought to understand how I, personally, create an emotional connection to a scene, how I identify the story I want to tell. I rarely feel the tug on my heart that I feel when I think of my wife, my children or my grandchildren.  A mountain sunrise doesn’t bring tears to my eyes. Yet, I love the mountains, the desert, the clouds, how light plays with the texture of a scene.  But my reaction is a different reaction; it’s that of an analytic.   I look at a scene and marvel at the geologic and/or human forces that formed it.  I see clouds and think about the uplift, downdrafts and other meteorological forces that shape them.  Some may ask how that can evoke awe; doesn’t analysis ruin the mystery and sense of wonder.  Piecing the puzzle together helps me see the processes that shaped the scene and are influencing it now.  Understanding the complexity, how processes interact to create systems, how interacting systems create a scene, creates the sense of wonder in me.  It provides my emotional link and evokes awe in me.   It may not tug at my heart but it tugs at my intellect and helps to create the story I want to tell.

Regards,

Larry

Leave a Reply

